Early voting starts in Nebraska’s 1st District special election

By: - May 31, 2022 3:30 am

A Lancaster County early voting drop box sits outside of the Lancaster County Election Commission in Lincoln. (Aaron Sanderford/Nebraska Examiner)

OMAHA — Nebraska voters can start casting in-person early ballots Tuesday May 31 for the June 28 special election, which will determine who will finish the final six months of former Rep. Jeff Fortenberry’s term, following his resignation in March. 

Voters in all of Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Dodge, Lancaster, Madison, Platte, Seward and Stanton Counties, along with voters in parts of Polk and Sarpy Counties, make up Nebraska’s 1st Congressional District.

Those running to replace Fortenberry are State Sen. Mike Flood of Norfolk, a Republican and former speaker of the Legislature, and State Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks of Lincoln, a Democrat.

County election officials will start mailing out already-requested early voting ballots Tuesday, according to the Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office. June 17 is the last day to request a ballot by mail for the special election. Get the form to request a ballot here.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. AP and Getty images may not be republished. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of any other photos and graphics.

Aaron Sanderford
Aaron Sanderford

Political reporter Aaron Sanderford has tackled various news roles in his 20-plus year career. He has reported on politics, crime, courts, government and business for the Omaha World-Herald and Lincoln Journal-Star. He also worked as an assignment editor and editorial writer. He was an investigative reporter at KMTV.

Nebraska Examiner is part of States Newsroom, the nation’s largest state-focused nonprofit news organization.